Thread: confused about Honors English

This is my first year using TOG, so I'm still wrapping my head around everything. (In other words, forgive me if I'm missing something obvious.) I really want my 15 yr old to do Honors English this year. In looking at the Teaching Rhetoric Literaturedocument, I see multiple places discussing the requirements. On the Credits Chart, it says Honors would consist of "all assignments, including written exercises for Literature and at least 30 weeks of composition assignments...One of those papers should be a literary analysis paper and one should be a literary comparison paper."
    Then when I look at the Suggested Requirements chart (the one with the percentages of what is worth how much of the grade) it requires all 3 literary analysis papers. Which is it?
    Also, am I understanding the customizing appendix correctly that Honors English would not read everything? We can cut things out and still call it Honors? I was already planning to cut Henry V because she'll be reading it in a Shakespeare class she's taking as a separate elective this year. Am I right in thinking I could cut a bit more as well?

Hi there! Let me see if I can help you (and Dana, please weigh in if I get this wrong!). "All assignments" means all 36 weeks of literature assignments, plus all the SAP work for each week, for Honors. So in that case you would not be able to use the cutting chart. However, if your daughter IS doing Henry V in a different class, then I would consider it as a completed assignment for TOG Honors.

On the papers... the cutting chart shows the three to five (it varies from year to year) literature papers that are SUGGESTED requirements for each year: the Personal Response to Literature paper, three Literary Analysis papers (one on a story, one on a drama, and one on a poem), and the Literary Comparison paper. For an honors credit, you only have to do two of these: one of the Literary Analysis papers and the Literary Comparison paper.