Thread: What does TOG look like in your home?

This is my first time using TOG and we're beginning with unit 4. I'm thinking that it's probably a whole lot easier to begin a year with unit 1! LOL! Anyway, I am feeling a little foggy about this and would greatly appreciate hearing from those who have used TOG for awhile.

What do your Friday meetings look like? How do you manage more than one level? How closely do you follow the booklists? Do you ever feel like it's an awful lot for Mom to digest, let alone the children? How do you manage it?

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks much,
    Linda

I know it looks different in every home. Nobody does ToG alike so hopefully lots of people will reply to your questions. Here is my 2 cents worth.

I have two girls in UG and a son in LG, and a pre-schooler. I stick with the suggested books (or alternative books) if I can get them from the local library. If not, I check out books on that topic and pick and choose from them what I want to use. If the library has nothing on the topic I read (or lecture) from the teacher's notes.

Yes, it is a lot to digest, especially in the beginning when you are still getting a feel for how the curriculum is laid out. After a while you will know right where everything is and know what to expect from yourself and your children in any given week. It does take time though, for everyone, to adjust.

Teaching my children independance has been invaluable! If you are managing more than one level, the more the older ones can do on their own the better. My girls know where to find their assignments each week (in my lesson plan book) and do a set amount of work each morning before I come to look it over.

Since my oldest isn't a strong reader I still read most of the books aloud to all the children. My LG son doesn't always sit through the UG books, but I have been amazed at how much he absorbs, even if he is playing with his cars or Legos on the floor while I read to the girls.