Thread: History Core, Rhetoric Weeks 14-17....

This is my first time posting. This is my 6th year using TOG...started with Classic YR 3 and have been moving up through the Redesigned as they are being published....which by the way are wonderful. My comment/suggestion/question has to do with the History Core selection for the Rhetoric level used in weeks 14-17 (World War II coverage). The comment actually comes from my 18 yr son who loves history, especially anything pertaining to warfare. He was disappointed with the selection of the Stephen Ambrose book, The Good Fight: How World War II Was Won. He told me that he thought it was more of a book for the UG level, that it didn't have too much information or content, especially to answer some of the Accountability and Thinking level questions and going through our discussion time this week for Week 17 I have to agree with him. He really loved the H.P. Willmott book that was used for WW I published by DK. After looking at our libary's catalog I noticed that Wilmott also wrote one on WWII. So my question is, why didn't TOG use this book or some other with more content? He loves Albert Marrin and has several of his books, so he enjoyed reading through those again pertaining to this time in history, but was disappointed with the Ambrose book. When first starting with TOG I know that it was not to be book specific, but general topic. But as the Redesigned years have come out, they have become book specific because of the AQ's & TQ's and evaluations having questions tied to them. Just a thought.

Monika in WI