Thread: Coordination with TOG Book List?

I am very excited about this new venture as history and literature discussions have always been a struggle for me to fit in and prepare for and yet I feel have the potential to be soo very valuable.

My question is related to books required. I have been doing TOG for 9 years and have a lot, I mean a lot of books. But since TOG book list has changed so much over the years they aren't necessarily the books presently being used. They might have been last years or 4 years ago or OOP books that by necessity were removed from TOG due to lack of availability but still are very good books. I can understand that the literature discussions are book specific although perhaps not the specific edition on the TOG booklist. But even that might be a problem if everyone is referring to a page number and you are using a different edition. We found this with the Odyssey and Aeneid which were even line specific in the discussions.
    But for history, if they can answer the discussion questions from their reading do they have to read the very book recommended. I did a search of Bookshelf Central and would need to buy $500 worth of books to be completely in synch with TOG book list. Ahhhhh!
    I'm referring in my case to Rhetoric Yr 2.

Dear Fay,

Great question.

Let's talk History first. We are not requiring that the students have the exact book that the RAC has listed. Of course, if your student has the exact book he/she will be able to answer all of the questions with that book. Other books may be used, the parent needs to understand that it may require the student to dig deeper.

For Literature the student isn't required to have the exact edition or exact translation BUT often it is helpful for the student.